Log in

No account? Create an account



Adventures in the Kitchen and on the Road

Previous Entry Share Flag Next Entry

Bok Choy Stir-fried with Ginger

In email, someone asked me how to cook baby bok choy. I haven't tried making that but I did have this post drafted from a few years ago. Figured I might as well post it even though I think I should have minced up a few cloves of garlic and sauteed the garlic in with the ginger. But at least I like the photos so I'll go ahead and post even though I haven't had a chance to try cooking this recipe up again.

In other news, I've started trying to identify the recipes I've posted that are vegan and tag them. I would also look for and tag the gluten-free recipes but I don't really know much about the tricky bits yet. For example, a few years ago, I brought a Green Beans and Garlic dish to a potluck for a friend who ate gluten-free, and was chagrined to learn that soy sauce isn't gluten-free. What other tricky ingredients would I want to keep an eye out for?

small photo of Bok Choy Stir-fried with Ginger (and Garlic)

Bok Choy Stir-Fried with Ginger (and Garlic)

1 Tbsp. vegetable oil
small piece of fresh ginger
1 bunch of bok choy
soy sauce (to taste)(get gluten-free soy sauce or tamari if needed)
Modify this and add: 2-3 cloves of garlic, minced

  1. Cut about 3 quarter-sized slices of fresh peeled ginger.
  2. Cut off and discard the bottom of the white stalk part.
  3. Chop the white stalk part into 1-inch pieces. Wash and rinse well. Set aside.
  4. Chop the green leafy parts into 1-inch pieces. Wash and rinse well. Set aside.
  5. Heat about 1 Tbsp of oil until hot in a large wok.
  6. Throw in pieces of ginger and white stalks. Stir fry for about 4-5 minutes.
  7. Throw in the minced garlic and stir fry another minute until fragrant.
  8. Throw in green leafy parts and stir fry until they're just wilted and have turned bright green.
  9. Drizzle with soy sauce to taste. Toss and serve.

bigger photo of Bok Choy Stir-fried with Ginger

  • 1
I make this sort of thing a lot. I like to add tofu to make it a complete one-meal dish. Also, I love baby bok choi in soup, even regular old ramen.

Soy sauce is a big problem for celiacs; lots of other packaged sauces and condiments contain gluten as well. Also, beer, if you ever cook with it (rather than just, you know, drinking it). The do make gluten free versions of soy, and beer for that matter.

Thanks for more ideas of what to do with bok choy. I bet it would do well mixed into miso soup. Good to know that it's possible to get gluten-free soy sauce. Traditionally soy sauce doesn't use wheat. Seems like that's been added to be able to mass produce it. :P

I don't know a lot about gluten-free stuff either, but isn't tamari a wheat-free version of soy sauce?

Seems like most tamari is wheat-free but you still need to read the labels since a few will try to sneak it in. Apparently soy sauce traditionally didn't use wheat to make it, but wheat was added when they started mass producing soy sauce.

not all soy sauce has wheat in it

La choy has a wheat-free soy sauce, and I believe most Tamari sauces are wheat free.

Re: not all soy sauce has wheat in it

Good tips, thanks!

  • 1